Brian PCF's Blog

Paleo Butter?

This may be close enough. Ghee is made from butter, but with little to none of the milk solids left behind. The idea came from a post on Robb Wolf’s blog from Dave Werner of Level 4 Crossfit.

Since I didn’t have any organic butter handy, I just went ahead and ordered some here. What I’ll do is run out and grab some organic butter and try to make my own Ghee and do a little taste test. I’ll let you guys know how it goes.

Has anybody ever cooked with Ghee?

I’m mainly planning on using it with my eggs and bacon in the morning and for my baked whole chicken. I get all this stuff from Alison and it’s extremely tasty. Adding a good amount of butter makes it just about the best thing on earth. So I’ll play around with the Ghee to see how the taste changes.

I’ve got 12 days to go on my 30 Day Paleo Challenge. So far I’m averaging a daily score of 34.4 out of 40 (you can see my tracker here). The biggest thing taking me down is my stress level. This is pretty subjective, but pretty accurate. Too many tasks, not enough time. And too many tasks that are taking forever and not seeing actualization. Good times…

Of those who are doing the 30 Day Paleo Challenge using our new tracking sheet, what’s your score?

Have a few benchmarks coming up (Fran, 5x400m) so if I PR on those by some significant degree, that’ll probably help the stress level out quite a bit.

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Ghee – fabulous stuff. Because you are cooking the milk solids slightly before you strain it, you wind up with something that is more intensely “buttery” than your standard melted butter. Personally, I’m thinking steak cooked with ghee and garlic. mmmm……

    Current average – 23.4. Sleep and carbs (especially the carbs…) are the 2 big hangups. A bit surprised that my stress level hasn’t been higher this month. Most successful with the fish oil.

    Comment by Wendy | December 13, 2009

  2. Thanks for letting me workout with you guys this weeked! You have a great facility and a great group of people. See you again soon!

    Comment by Sophie | December 16, 2009

  3. Are you kidding me? Anytime, come on by!

    Comment by Brian PCF | December 16, 2009

  4. Its been a while since I clarified butter. But, is that the basic idea behind organic butter?

    Comment by Tony | January 12, 2010

  5. Tony – no.

    Organic butter is just butter from cows that have only been fed organic feed, and that can include organic soy, corn, and grains. So I very rarely buy organic unless I know it’s also pasture-raised – and that’s usually hard to find and in my opinion unnecessary.

    This was a separate case as I was fiending for butter and didn’t know I could get grass fed butter from Alison.

    I’d much prefer “pasture raised” (or “grass fed” if it’s beef) over organic.

    Ghee is, like you mentioned, clarified butter. But because the butterfat is removed, the gut inflammation that results from dairy is blunted.

    Comment by Brian PCF | January 12, 2010

  6. By gut inflammation do you mean lactose intolerance or is gut inflammation the new term for “fat”? As in ‘I’m not fat, I have gut inflammation’.

    Comment by Tony | January 13, 2010

  7. Oops…I missed the word clarified right there on the packaging…

    Comment by Tony | January 13, 2010

  8. Gut inflammation is going to come into play more with respect to successfully processing the macronutrients that you’re ingesting.

    What’s interesting about this in the general sense is that usually (outside of allergies) significant refined carbohydrates is a large factor in gut inflammation – however, until someone really cuts those carbs completely out of the diet, the body can much more efficiently process micronutrients from carbs than protein or fat.

    So it’s a type of horrible cycle: more carbs equals more gut irritation, equals the need for more carbs.

    The only way (that I know of) to effectively and efficiently combat this is removing all processed carbs from the diet, turning to non-processed protein and fats for a super majority of caloric intake. This will rewire your gut to be able to successfully process protein and fat, as well as dramatically reduce gut inflammation.

    Comment by Brian PCF | January 13, 2010


Leave a Reply

