Brian PCF's Blog

How To Eat Fat

photo1

At first I thought it was anomalous: I had an athlete who was trying to Zone who continually didn’t hit his fat blocks.  Every day I’d take a look at his spreadsheet and his blog and he’d be short.

He’d have comments like “didn’t have any fat around, missed it again!!” and “Wow, it’s so hard to eat enough fat!!”

I was astounded.

Pictured above is what I could grab within arms reach when I decided I wanted a little extra fat one night, here we have:

Almond Butter
Peanut Butter
Pistachios
Pistachio Kernels
Pecans
Walnuts
Almonds
Pumpkin Seeds
Macadamia Nuts

In short, enough fat here for about two months easily.

My desk at work has a similar hodge podge in one of the drawers. A good supply of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and pecans. These rotate out frequently with some of the above.

My last Foundations Class I had another person start the Zone and had the same problem – not enough fat!! Hence the need to attack this growing global crisis head on.

If we want the body to shift to triglycerides as it’s primary fuel source we have to give it that fuel (fat) to burn. This along with quality proteins will stimulate the production of glucogon. This hormone is responsible for opening the flood gates of your bodies fat reserve. Check out Nicole Carroll’s Teeter Totter Video for more info:

Part I…[wmv][mov]
Part II…[wmv][mov]

So whether you are looking for weight loss or optimum performance, you’ve got to eat your fat!!

March 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Going to have to add pumpkin seeds to my fat mix.

    Also, aren’t walnuts a little high in sat fat? Think I remember reading that in one of Dr. Sears’s books. Such little sat fat shouldn’t make that huge of a difference anyways.

    Comment by jared | March 24, 2009

  2. Amen! I sometimes find it hard to convince people that fat is good. They don’t know why they say it’s bad, but “it just is!” I’ve gotten a few people to start the Zone diet, but they fall off quickly. My hunch is that positive motivation is the key; without a very desired goal point, be in weight loss or performance gain, most don’t stick to it. I guess their desire to lose weight (the most often goal) isn’t as high as their tolerance to weigh and measure foods. Back to the carbs and cardboard foods they go, still wondering why they don’t lose weight. Oh well. You can only lead a horse to water.

    Comment by Rich V. | March 25, 2009

  3. Brian, found a great site for all your nerdy desires.

    http://crossfitcoronado.typepad.com/crossfit_coronado_nutriti/

    Enjoy!

    Comment by Rich V. | March 25, 2009

  4. Yeah! Good stuff, thanks Rich.

    Comment by Brian PCF | March 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

