Brian PCF's Blog

K-Star

Going through Kelly Starrett’s material on the Crossfit Journal (of San Francisco Crossfit) has been huge for me. His videos on Midline Stabilization have helped me personally as an athlete and professionally as a trainer.

His latest video on Hamstring Assessment was really a big piece of what’s missing from me as a trainer. I hate stretching, not because I don’t like flexibility, I think flexibility is great. But simply because stretching never works!

I’ve never seen anybody get flexible by stretching. I’ve seen people that are flexible stretch, but I’ve never seen anyone go from Point A (inflexible) to Point B (flexible) by stretching.

Now along comes K-Star and he explains why. So dig up Hamstrung and his Midline Videos on the Crossfit Journal and read what you can on PNF stretching. That or just come to my classes, because we’re going to be doing a lot of this in the near term and I’m going to work on getting K-Star out to PCF ASAP.

February 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. couldn’t agree more! I experimented with PNF last night and I’m going to make it a part of my daily routine. I will be the first one to sign up if you get a K-Star Seminar at PCF

    Comment by Ryan P | February 19, 2009

  2. I’m going to mess with some PNF today. I’m still not 100% clear on the execution though.

    I read the hamstrung article, but don’t “get it” yet. I’m just going to play around and see what happens. My right hamstring is a little tore up from the Power Cleans the other day, so this will be a good experiment.

    Comment by Brian PCF | February 19, 2009

  3. I’m good as long as there’s no heavy barbell work involved…damn that heavy stuff!

    Comment by Rich V. | February 22, 2009


Leave a Reply

